

IEEE - MVSR STUDENT BRANCH

Student Branch Code: 12161, School Code: 41329276



How to Apply REM

IEEE MVSR SB has conducted a webinar on 28th march, 2020 for Richard-E-Merwin Scholarship guidance. This event was conducted to motivate the students to participate and apply for the scholarship.

Student Branch Mentor:

Dr. Atul Negi, Professor, School of CIS, University of Hyderabad.

Student Branch Advisor:

Mr. V. Ashwini Kumar, Head of the Department, Information Technology, MVSR Engineering College.

Student Branch Counsellor:

Dr. D. Hari Krishna, Assoc. Professor, EEE Dept., MVSR Engineering College.

Student Branch Executive Committee

Ms. R. Ramya Sri - Chairperson
Ms. K. Akshitha - Vice Chair
Ms. M. Shreya - Secretary
Mr. K. Vinay Kumar
Mr. V. Vineeth - Treasurer

WIE Affinity Group

Ms. A. Sai Pratyusha - Chair
Ms. M. Shresta - Vice Chair
Ms. Sahithya Namani - Secretary
Ms. L. Ruthvika - Joint Secretary
Ms. R. Ruchitha - Treasurer

Power & Energy Society

Mr. E. Pavan Kumar - Chair
Ms. K. Jayasree - Vice Chair
Mr. N. Avinash - Secretary
Ms. B. Nikita Reddy - Joint Secretary
Ms. S. Satvikka - Treasurer

WIE Student Branch Advisor:

Dr. G. Kanaka Durga, Principal & Professor, MVSR Engineering College.

PES Advisor:

Dr. D. Hari Krishna, Assoc. Professor, EEE Dept., MVSR Engineering College.

CS Student Branch Advisor:

Mrs. B. Saritha, Assoc. Professor, CSE Dept., MVSR Engineering College.

CASS Student Branch Advisor:

Mrs. S. Aruna, Asst. Professor, ECE Dept., MVSR Engineering College.

Computer Society

Mr. S. Sai Teja - Chair
Ms. G. Suradhya - Vice Chair
Mr. M. Vamshi Krishna - Secretary
Ms. A. Phani Sahasra - Joint Secretary
Mr. V. Manikanta - Treasurer

Circuits and Systems Society

Mr. D. Siddartha - Chair
Mr. K. Jaideep - Vice Chair
Mr. D.V.B. Parthiv - Secretary
Mr. D. Venkat - Joint Secretary
Ms. P. Shravya - Treasurer

Operating Committees

Mr. P. Varun Kumar -Operating Committees Head
Mr. Ch. Jinesh - Publicity Committee
Mr. M.V.S.S.R. Sahith - Membership Committee
Mr. Hemish & Mr. Y SaiSameer- Design Committee
Mr. M. Sri Sai Teja - Program Committee

Session details:

Date: 28th March, 2020.

Time: 5:00pm – 6:30pm.

No. of participants: 22.

Speaker for the session was Ramyasri Ramaraju, IEEE MVSR SB Chair, REM Scholar for 2019 cycle.



Speaker sharing her screen.

Speaker started the session by explaining the REM Aspirants what are the awards under IEEE that are applicable for IEEE members and thereby she explained what are the benefits of REM scholarship, it's eligibility, how to apply.

She said that the Merwin scholarship now has two application deadlines: 30 April and 30 September of each year and one may apply once per year.

She acknowledged that graduate students, and those in the final two years of an undergraduate program with IEEE Computer Society membership for at least three (3) months prior to the application deadline is required. She said that the applicants are required to have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 / 4.0 (or exam marks of at least 60%), and be a full-time student as defined by his or her academic institution during the course of the award and also student winners of the Computer Society's Richard Merwin or UPE/CS award for the previous year (13 months) are not eligible.



Scholarships Outreach Initiative

IEEE CS SYP

IEEE CS REM Help desk

She explained what are to be attached along the application like, academic transcripts, LOR's. She briefed about the things which are not to included, benefits of REM scholarship and also about other awards of IEEE CS like upsilon pi epsilon.

She shared the IEEE leadership roles, her personal journey in the IEEE so far and her experience and also about the student ambassador vision. She concluded the session by clarifying the doubts raised by the attendees.

REPORTED BY-

IEEE MVSR SB.